Tricounty News

EV-W FFA Scrapbook students

Scrapbook students in FFA are, from left, Thomas Schmitt, Dillon Blonigen, and Jodi Phillipp. Not pictured are Carter Phillipp and W-scrapbookKenadie Shoutz. Submitted photo.


Kangas at Minnesota Youth Institute April 12

Emma Kangas, daughter of Katherine Kangas, participated in the Minnesota Youth Institute Saturday, April 12. Emma was one of 12 Borlaug Scholars this year. Students presented their research papers and were interviewed for competitive selection to attend the W-EVW-FFA-emma1Global Youth Institute in Iowa. Students also met and networked with business and industry leaders in Minnesota. Students and their mentors interacted with Borlaug-Ruan interns and toured the cereal disease lab on the University of Minnesota, 

St. Paul campus. Emma’s mentor is Mrs. Tracy Huhn, Eden Valley-Watkins FFA advisor. Submitted photo.


EV-W FFA region banquet April 15

The Eden Valley-Watkins FFA chapter participated in the Region 5 banquet Tuesday, April 15. James Gathje, son of Scott and Denise Gathje, was installed as a Region 5 FFA Director for the 2014-2015 year. The EV-W chapter won second place in the W-banquetregional scrapbook contest. The dairy cattle evaluation team placed seventh at the regional contest Monday, April 14, in Brookings, S.D. The team consists of James Gathje, Arnie Gruenes, Calvin Kipf, Shelby Kuechle, and Jodi Phillipp. They will be competing at the state FFA convention Monday, April 28.

EV-W FFA Region 5 banquet participants are, from left to right, James Gathje, Jodi Phillipp, Arnie Gruenes, Dillon Blonigen, Thomas Schmitt, Corey Mathies, and Jennifer Schriefels. Submitted photo.



‘Annie’ production brings unexpected reunion

When St. Nicholas-area resident Trish Ludwig decided to try out for a role in the EV-W spring musical “Annie,” she was in for an unexpected reunion with a woman she had not seen since high school.W-orphans-with-Tamara-McKlintock

It was the first night of practice and the choreographer, Tamara McKlintock, was showing the cast what to do in the first song. “Her voice sounded so familiar,” Ludwig said. “I kept asking people who she was, but no one knew her.”

Ludwig mentioned to cast-mate Nick Block that the choreographer reminded her of her high school drama teacher. Finally, Ludwig asked director Vicki Meyer the name of the choreopgrapher.


26 named EV-W CMC all-academic team

Twenty-six EV-W students were named to the Central Minnesota Conference all-academic team for the winter season. To qualify, a student must have W-All-Academic-CMC-team-DSCN0359lettered and maintained an accumulated 3.7 grade point average or better during the winter season. Those achieving this award were (from left in front): speech members Cam Flaschenriem, Nathan Utecht, Heidi Geislinger, Brandi Asfeld, and Maggie Schmaltz. In second row are speech members Dyani Acosta, Paige Thielen, Anne Benson, Kaitlyn Gruber, Kennedy Kleist and Hannah Holmberg In third row are girls’ basketball players Elaina Stommes, Maria Holdvogt, Greta Stommes and Bobbi Block. In fourth row are boys’ basketball players Travis Thielen and Mitch Molitor; wrestler Matt Schindler, boys’ basketball Reese Janson and Jared Streit; girls’ basketball players Mindy Forcier, Brook Stang, Mikayla Kummet, Breanna Stang and Jamie Scherer. Not pictured is Rae Eckerly. Submitted photo.